Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 3 (TIRZ #3)

The Town of Little Elm, Texas, pursuant to Chapter 311 of the Texas Tax Code, designated a geographic area within the extraterritorial jurisdiction of the Town as a Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone #3 (TIRZ #3). On October 15, 2013, the Town created TIRZ #3 by Ordinance No. 1175. The Final Reinvestment Zone Financing plan was approved on April 15, 2017, by Ordinance 1214. The purpose of TIRZ #3 is to fund the Lakefront District.

Go to to learn more about The Lakefront™ District. 

The Board of Directors for the zone consists of nine members. Seven members shall comprise the Town Council, and the Commissioners Court of Denton County shall appoint the remaining two members. If the Commissioners Court does not appoint its members by December 31, 2014, the Town Council shall appoint both members not appointed by the Court, and the Commissioners Court shall be deemed to have waived its right to appoint such members in the future.

The Town Council appoints the Mayor to serve as the Chairman of the Board. The Board is authorized to elect a Vice-Chairman and other officers as determined by the Board.

The Commissioners Court shall fill vacancies for director positions appointed by the Court. Town Council members shall serve on the Board during their term on Town Council. If a Town Council member is not reelected or fails to run for re-election, the successor shall serve on the Board.

Town of Little Elm Representatives
Curtis Cornelious
Neil Blais
Lisa Norman
Michael McClellan
Tony Singh

Denton County Representatives

Steve Knippen - Term expires August 22, 2025
David Hillock - Term expires August 22, 2025